dancer

Ohlone Dancer by Obi Kaufmann

They are unearthing Chochenyo Ohlone ancestors under that new retail monstrosity they are throwing up over on 4th Street in Berkeley. We have an opportunity here to exhibit respect and do some rethinking about our ceaseless bullshit.

From Lindsie Bear of Hey Day Books: Bay area friends, Ohlone folks’ ancestors are being dug up at a construction site on 4th Street. If you’d like to support your Ohlone neighbors who oppose this, the contact info for the Berkeley city offices involved are below. Berkeley did adopt the United Nations Declaration on the Right of Indigenous People, which gives clear instructions about situations like this, so they have a good map to navigate these waters, if they choose to use it. If you need more info, here are some recent news links:

  1. KQED “Native American Remains Found at Berkeley Construction Site.
  2. BERKELEY SIDE “Ohlone Human Remains Found in Trench in West Berkeley.
  3. SANTA CRUZ SENTINEL “Berkeley: Second Set of Human Remains Found Near Spenger’s Fish Grotto.

Call out To protect Ohlone Sacred Sites!

One of the oldest Ohlone Sacred Sites at 4th and Hearst is being desecrated. As a person of faith and a person who loves the earth, I can’t stand idly by and let this happen. Please, join me in calling the city of Berkeley and asking them to work with the Chochenyo Ohlone people before any development or alteration of this sacred site. See contact info below. You can send a quick group email and the calls don’t take that long.

From Corrina Gould:
“Please call and email the representatives of the City of Berkeley and demand that they work with all the Chochenyo Ohlone people. We demand that the City of Berkeley work with multiple and diverse Chochenyo Ohlone voices to create a transparent process of UNDRIP with free and prior consent on all zoning and future development projects.”

Please Call and Email:

Mayor Tom Bates mayor@cityofberkeley.info
TEL: (510) 981-7100

Linda Maio lmaio@cityofberkeley.info
TEL: (510) 981-7110

Darryl Moore dmoore@cityofberkeley.info
TEL: (510) 981-7120

Maxwell Anderson manderson@cityofberkeley.info
Phone: (510) 981-7130

Jessie Arreguin jarreguin@cityofberkeley.info
Phone: 510-981-7140

Laurie Capitelli lcapitelli@cityofberkeley.info
Phone: (510) 981-7150

Susan Wengraf swengraf@cityofberkeley.info
Phone: (510) 981-7160

Kriss Worthington kworthington@cityofberkeley.info
(510) 9817170

Lori Droste ldroste@cityofberkeley.info
Phone: 510-981-7180

*Please share with your listserves or on social media*

Corrina Gould, Chochenyo Ohlone,
Co-Founder Indian People Organizing for Change, <shellmoundwalk@yahoo.com>

the bay